An Introduction to the Chakras

July 8th 2021

An Introduction to the Chakras

If you practice or follow Eastern spiritual practices such as yoga or meditation, you would have come across the word ‘Chakras’. Understanding what it is will transform your life as you learn about yourself. It gives you deep insight into everything you’re experiencing while cultivating self-awareness and natural intuition.

What are Chakras?

Chakra comes from Sanskrit, one of the oldest Indo-European languages. The meaning of this word is wheel or disk. When you say chakra, it refers to the energy centers in your body. Each chakra point corresponds to specific organs and nerve bundles.

Origin of Chakras

The concept of chakras comes from ancient India. The oldest evidence you can find about this spiritual practice is in the Vedas. They are the oldest scriptures of Hinduism and are written in Sanskrit.The philosophies of chakras are well-documented in the Upanishads. It helped shape spirituality in several ancient eastern religions such as Buddhism and Hinduism. According to these ancient documents, the chakras contain concentrated energies. Also, they are the places in your body where consciousness and matter meet. Keep in mind the chakra system and yoga are old practices. Yogis have been relying on them for thousands of years before the invention of modern medicine.

Location of Chakras

Although there is the belief that 114 chakra locations exist, most practices focus on the seven main points. They start from the tailbone and go all the way to your head. According to eastern philosophy, they play a role in your spiritual, emotional, mental, and physical wellbeing. Let’s look at the seven main chakras:

Muladhara Chakra

The English name for Muladhara Chakra is Root Chakra. It is located in your tailbone and is represented by the color red. The Root Chakra is related to emotions such as survival, security, stability, and confidence.
When you balance this energy point, you feel steady and calm. However, when it isn’t aligned, it causes issues such as stress, anxiety, depression, and exhaustion.

Svadhisthana Chakra

Svadhisthana Chakra also goes by the name Sacral Chakra. Located above your pubic bone in the lower abdomen, it relates to emotions such as creativity and sensuality. It also has associations with the water element.
By balancing this energy point, your life will consist of an abundance of fulfilling relationships, pleasure, movement, and creativity.However, you will face problems such as lower back pain, lack of creativity, sexual dysfunction and emotional instability if it is out of alignment.

Manipura Chakra

The Solar Plexus or Manipura Chakra is above your belly button. Represented by the color yellow, it has links to emotions such as focus, inner strength, ego, determination, and willpower. When balanced, you will find self-motivation, self-confidence, and purpose to your life. It teaches you to let go and avoid attaching yourself to situations out of your control. However, when it is out of alignment, it causes low self-confidence, digestion problems, and difficulty in making decisions.

Anahata Chakra

As the name suggests, the location of Anahata or Heart Chakra is in the center of your chest. Its color is green and represents joy, compassion, and love. Also, it is the bridge between the spiritual and physical chakras. Balanced, acceptance, forgiveness, compassion, and love take center stage in your life. Unaligned, you may feel unworthy and experience poor blood circulation.

Vishuddha Chakra

The fifth main point is the Vishuddha or Throat Chakra. It is the first spiritual chakra in your body. Communication, confidence, authenticity, and self-expression are tied to this point. Balancing it will help you express yourself authentically and clearly. Out of alignment can cause problems such as the inability to speak the truth and ask for what you want.

Ajna Chakra
The Ajna or Third Eye Chakra relates to intelligence, intuition, and trust. Represented by Indigo, it dictates how you perceive the world externally and internally. When you balance it, you can rely on your intuition to make the right decisions. It helps overcome your ego. However, when it is out of alignment, you become cynical. Also, you tend to be untrusting.

Sahasrara Chakra
The last one is Sahasrara or Crown Chakra which goes by the color white. Enlightenment, wisdom, serenity, and balance are dependent on this energy point. When balanced, you feel a deep connection to your higher self.
However, when it is out of alignment, you find it challenging to function in regular activities while being skeptical of yourself.

55 11 77 11 99